The Aotearoa New Zealand Anaesthesia Education Committee (ANZAEC) is a joint subcommittee of the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists (NZSA) and the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists New Zealand National Committee (ANZCA NZNC).

ANZAEC oversees and coordinating continuing professional development (CPD) activities for anaesthetists in New Zealand on behalf of the parent organisations.  


The Committee members consist of 3 NZSA and 3 ANZCA NZNC representatives.  The Chair is held by one of the parent body representatives and rotates biennially.

The Committee
Dr Tom Fernandez
Dr Tom Fernandez


Dr Sheila Hart
Dr Sheila Hart

NZSA President

Dr Sally Ure
Dr Sally Ure

Chair ANZCA NZNC representative

Dr Jonathan Panckhurst
Dr Jonathan Panckhurst

NZSA Education Officer and representative

  • Dr Kathryn Hagen  (NZSA Past President and representative)

  • Kiri Rikihana (ANZCA Executive Director,observer status)

  • Michele Thomas (NZSA CEO,observer status)

  • Dr Elizabeth Robinson (ANZCA Trainee representative)

  • Dr Michael Wadsworth (NZSA Trainee representative)

  • Kirstin Fraser (NZATS representative, observer status) 

  • Adele Broadbent (ANZCA Comms Manager,observer status)

The ANZAEC meets several times a year by teleconference and

usually in person at the Aotearoa New Zealand Annual Scientific Meeting (ANZCA ASM).